PDA

View Full Version : R/c Hobby Going Down?

weasel33
05-07-2004, 01:46 AM
Is the Hobby of r/c better or worse then what it was 10 years ago? If its worse will it ever recover? National races are down businesses are closing what is next for this hobby?

403forbidden
05-07-2004, 01:53 AM
10 years ago was 1993/94...that was a really dead time for RC.

I think the RC scene is on a high level right now.

metalry101
05-07-2004, 02:20 AM
I can't say I know what the r/c scene was like 10 years ago, but I do know that overall, the sport is growing. However, I do hear of a lot of stores closing and a lot of instability within the hobby. Like the Micro racing for example. That was the big thing for a little while, but then a ton of people got out of it and stores and tracks closed like crazy. I'm no expert at all, and I haven't seen a broad enough picture of the industry to come up w/ a reliable theory, but my guess is that a lot of the people in the industry failed to follow the first rule of the stock market. DIVERSIFY. I think a lot of companies, tracks, and shops jumped on the bandwagon w/ the Micro stuff, and I'm sure even more have jumped on the bandwagon w/ the Monster stuff, but if that starts to go down, I think a lot of companies are going to find themselves between a rock and a hard place. Just my view on the situation.

RCDaniel
05-07-2004, 02:23 AM
Of course it's going up. You can't have the attitude of it going downhill man. Be positive and with people positive about is what helps it grow. Why even think about it going down? We can't let it.

weasel33
05-07-2004, 02:33 AM
Oh I dont want it to go down, I love racing oval cars, I want to be able to open my own track one day. But all I have ever seen is more and more stores closing. I dont want to get rich of this but I would like to have it be stable so I can put all my efforts to the racers.

Dino451
05-07-2004, 02:40 AM