PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

bongmaster
05-10-2004, 12:48 PM
Hello all, I'm new to RC and just have some general questions:

1) Batteries
I have 4 3000mah battery packs and a MRC Super Brain 819. Will this charger properly charge the 3000mah batteries I have? The reason I ask is because after a fast charge I get very short run times and not much power:

http://www.modelrec.com/products/batteryChargers/product.asp?ID=1322&Subcategory=Battery%20Charger

2) What are the best batteries you can get for the Rustler? I got mine at batteryspace.com for very cheap, maybe not a good idea?

http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=215&HS=1

3) Does anyone know where a good track to race at might be found in the Philadelphia area? I'm just getting into it and would like to find a local track.

Thanks!

bongmaster
05-10-2004, 02:54 PM
As long as I'm asking questions I might as well list them all!

I'm looking on eBay right now for a great deal on a gas powered truck. Ideally I'd like something ready to run that includes everything I need except maybe gas. The Traxxas T-Maxx looks like a decent buy but I see lots of others in there. What's a good truck comparable to the T-Maxx? I plan to spend around $300-$350 for everything.

josh222
05-10-2004, 03:49 PM
I can't help with the batteries, i am a Nitro guy. As for the nitro part the Savage 25 RTR is a comparible truck. T-maxx is fast but the Savage is a Beast :D If you want a truck go for what your LHS has parts for. T-Maxx or Savage you can't go wrong

bongmaster
05-10-2004, 05:04 PM
Thanks Josh, much appreciated. The local Action Hobbies has lots of Traxxas parts. I see quite a few Savage offerings on eBay, many under $400.

*Miller*
05-10-2004, 05:50 PM
I have several friends with Savages - they rate them very, very highly. Some of these friends have also ran T Maxxes, and while the T Maxx is a good truck, they would all choose the Savage if they could.