PDA

View Full Version : which is faster

ralliart
05-12-2004, 09:19 PM
my friend has a HPI RTR RS4 3 EVO and i want to race him, and i'm thinking of getting the HPI RS$ Type SS, but the Type ss 's engine is difernt then the EVo the evo's is a T-15 engine and the the Type ss's engine is a 12r SS, and is said to b\put out more the 1 horsepower, i just want to know which engine is better and has more speed and horsepower, and rpm, and the T-15 engine is alot cheaper then the 12r SS does this mean that the 12r SS is better and why is it cheaper. HPI said that the T-15 goes over 70kph and if the 12r SS is more expensive and more power (IF!!!) does this mean that it will go faster then 70kph, so bare with me, i'm not ne to rc's but i am new to nitro rc's

thanks

SteveK
05-12-2004, 10:13 PM
HPI's website says the T-15 is more powerful (Discounting the design and quality of the components, logically an engine with larger displacement would be more powerful), but it may not be as high-quality. Look at the rest of the kit's features as well.

Besides the differences in the cars, if you got the same car as your friend, you would both basically be on equal ground, for whatever that is worth to you.

ralliart
05-12-2004, 10:53 PM
well i want the type ss because it's a kit and i want to build it, but it doesn't have a roto start which is what i want and i want the EVO becasue it has a rotostart, and a better engine (i think) but the displacement for the type ss engine is 2.09cc and the displacement for the T-15 is 2.49cc. now i don't know.

TJNMT
05-12-2004, 11:08 PM
If you guys both have the same gearing. and you got .12rss and he has the t-15, you will win in a drag race. But on the track it's a different story

SteveK
05-12-2004, 11:09 PM
If the cars are otherwise the same (Besides the engines), just take the RTR apart and rebuild it before you run it.

josh222
05-13-2004, 12:00 PM