PDA

View Full Version : Truck help

raw10628
07-26-2004, 03:28 PM
I am pretty new to RC and I want to get something that I can just play around with. I want it to be able to take a little abuse from time to time. Maybe run it on the sand down at the beach. Anyone have any suggestions on a good car or truck that is resonably priced?

dalejrfan8
07-26-2004, 04:08 PM
A RTR T4 costs about $250. Just slap some paddle tires on and you can run on the beach. Be carefull because I have heard sand can ruin an electric motor. Welcome to the boards!

Figit090
07-26-2004, 04:16 PM
If sand gets in the motor i'm sure it could ruin it, to my knowledge there is only a small space between the armature and the can's magnets, if sand gets in there it will tear the life out of it quick...

Would you like to take on Nirto or stay simple with battery power? both are cool, electric is more simple though, some newbies have tuning trouble with nitro engines.

Got a price range?? that helps.

SS Pede
07-26-2004, 06:17 PM
Traxxas Stampede (http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXVK75**&P=ML) is a great truck, reasonably priced. It is more of a basher/monster than, say, a T4.

tec_41
07-26-2004, 07:34 PM
Pede is a good choice cuz its durable and cheap. You can make it go faster if u want, stock it goes low 20's.

rocknbil
07-26-2004, 07:46 PM
Figit - if that's you're only worry, wrap the motor in your Co-Flex man! :D I do it all the time racing.

Yeah but sand is not good for other reasons. Many run in it anyway, but it grinds up your moving parts quicker. Also sand is the most resistant surface, it puts a lot of load on an electric motor and even with lower gearing, it tends to overheat.

If you want a go-anywhere, climb-anything - go for one of the monster trucks. Otherwise, milder off-roading is done with stadium trucks or buggies. If you want to do parking lot high speeds, go with a touring or pan car.

raw10628
07-27-2004, 03:38 AM