PDA

View Full Version : Decisions, decisions, beginner here

LRL17Bob
09-21-2000, 08:09 PM
I am very interested in RC cars etc.
I am looking to buy one eventually but as this will be my first one, I need some help.
I will have limited $$ about $700 maybe 8-900 CDN. I am only a teen so a few things are going through my mind. Should I get an RTR or a kit or a used one. I am leaning towards off-road but there is only one track in town and no races on it. I am undecided between electric and gas. (Whichever is a better price) I don't know if I want to spend all of my money so a bargain buy will be my best interest.

A remote and other required acessories need to be considered as well.

I konw this is a lot of stuff to ask but I am hoping at least a few people will give me advice.

oldtimeRCer
09-21-2000, 08:43 PM
I think your right to want to go offroad it will give you more options on were to run your car. also electric is prob the better choice less hassle in getting it to run right.
here is a example for a couple ele. trucks

RC10T3 team truck $184.99
futaba mag. sport w/ ESC $99.99
trinity P2K stock motor $24.99
duratrax 1500 sport packs $15.99 each
AC/DC pirahna peak charger $34.99
Total $376.99 w/ 2 batter packs

these prices are right from towerhobbies

Traxxas stampede monster truck $104.99
same elec.
total $296.94

and if your wanting to spend up too $800.00 or $900.00 you could get a topo of the line racing set up.

by the way these are Kit's not RTR's
There is nothing wrong with RTR's but if you can do it, and have the time to do it, It is a good thing to build your own car or truck so you'll know how to fix it when you break something.

------------------
I may grow older but I'll never grow up.

R/C is a way of life

3 Tamiya TA02 Sedan's, XXT Sport, XX Sport, RC10T3, 2 Bulleads,

hpiguy
09-21-2000, 08:54 PM
Well for 700 bucks you can set yourself up very comfortably.

I might suggest this but feel free to pick other stuff.

Electric: