PDA

View Full Version : AA batery charging question



always_opencarb
03-08-2005, 06:28 PM
you know the reciver packs that come with the remotes? well could i cut the reciver plug off, load 4 AA rechargable batts into it and plug it in to my duratrax digital peak charger? thanks

zakerid
03-08-2005, 06:29 PM
as long as your charger can charge 4 cells. what are you charging the batts for?

always_opencarb
03-08-2005, 06:30 PM
digital camera

always_opencarb
03-08-2005, 10:16 PM
so will it work with my charger it says 1-8 cells not what type of cells though

Cotharyus
03-08-2005, 10:20 PM
Just remember to *turn down the charge rate*! AA batteries are not designed to accept the high charge rates sub-C's are, and will likely explode if you charge them at more than .5 amps, and you will probly want to monitor them very closely at that rate and make sure they don't heat up. Overall, if you have any other way of charging them, I'd use it.

baih
03-08-2005, 10:28 PM
you need to be able to charge at one amp.

rcguy2477
03-08-2005, 10:56 PM
Check on your radio for a charging connection. A lot of radios have them and it makes charging much simpler than taking them out and putting them in a holder.

-=ADA$=-
03-09-2005, 01:18 AM
its not about that, he wants to charge AA's for his camera. And yes, it will work ive done same thing, but try not to go past 1,5A or the wires will get really hot, and so will batteries

Grizzbob
03-09-2005, 01:54 AM
Agreed, I also do it that way, though for me it's with 8 cell packs that I use in my transmitter. I just leave 'em in the holder, connect my charger's alligator clips to the positive & negative contacts of the holder, set the rate at 1 amp, & it works fine..... :cool:

zakerid
03-09-2005, 08:16 AM
digital camera
i use my charger to charge my digi cam's batts too