PDA

View Full Version : Wondering if i could have some help...

Homertage
08-11-2007, 11:22 AM
Hello, first of all i would like to start by saying I AM A NOOB. Now that i have gotten that all out of the way I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions of what rc car i should buy. I wouldn't like to spend over 200$ and would rather have a buggie then a truck. Also, rtr or kit doesn't matter to me i am very handy with building things. Thank you for your time.

atm92484_3
08-11-2007, 12:45 PM
$200 is a little tight for getting a rtr going. Were you looking for gas or electric?

For the budget you're aiming at, I don't think you'd be able to do a kit since buying all of the required parts separately adds up pretty quick.

For electric, AE makes the RC10B4 RS. Tower has it for $235. Traxxas also makes the Bandit for around $150, and Sportwerks has the Raven for $155 at Horizon Hobby. You'd need a charger (probably around $50) and battery packs (around $20-$25/pack...you probably want atleast 2) for all of these. I tried to find the XXX buggy RTR on Horizon's site, but I wasn't successful. If you're planning on racing, I'd go with the AE (or Losi if you can find it).

For nitro, Duratrax offers the Evader BX for around $250. On top of the price of the car, you would need fuel, a fuel bottle, glow igniter, and fuel filter. For around $50, Trinity offers a kit for $50 with all of these in one box.

All of these are 1/10 scale 2wd buggies. You could also look at some of the 1/18 scale mini stuff since they're less expensive.

Were you planning on doing any racing?

You're going to see some cheaper kits on Ebay and such from companies like Smartech; I'd reccomend staying away from them. While they're cheap to start out with, parts are difficult to find and the quality of the kits is very poor.

kilrb
08-11-2007, 02:46 PM
With your budget I would stick with ebay. If your patient you could find a good buggy with some extras for about 200.

atm92484_3
08-11-2007, 10:31 PM