PDA

View Full Version : question about wings?

rustla
08-14-2007, 01:59 AM
ok i was wondering if wings on RC actually help(im still kinda new to RC so no need to flame on me) i was wondering because i got a Ford GT body for my rustler and i modified it to fit and i put the wing on, and thats when i started wondering,do they work like full scale wings do for fullscale cars, or are they just for looks for RC's, and also, if they do make a difference, will i notice a difference in highspeed handling?(i cant drive it right now due to broken bearing carrier)

jacsac
08-14-2007, 04:31 AM
They make a difference. Especially at high speeds and in the air.

balang_479
08-14-2007, 06:38 AM
They do make a difference but the strength varies on different forms of car Cars.

Onroad 1/8, their crutial (SP?) as their travel at incredibly high speeds even round the corners so downforce really improves handling.
even touring cars and 2WD 4WD Buggies they significantly help.

On truggies or Buggies they help but ive tried running without to test it and found not much difference... but off the jumps it did, the car seems to nose down more often, and maybe even on the high speed turns the rear end stepped out a bit.

marca
08-14-2007, 07:56 AM
yup I've noticed a difference from when i had my wing on and off when i go off jumps. The nose of the buggy will dive into the floor. causing it to flip over sometimes causing damage.

rccardude04
08-14-2007, 09:54 AM
There's another thread running around somewhere about downforce with touring car bodies.
And yeah, they make a big difference, especially if you have something with absolutely no downforce whatsoever. 2 good examples personally.