PDA

View Full Version : new to it

youngage
08-24-2007, 07:30 AM
hey everyone i am new to this thing and have some questions

1. are the rc vehicles easy to build?

2. what tools will i need?

3. would i need to upgrade anyparts for a fast car? or they fast enough as is?

4. i looked at the shells of the body and they are clear...so i have to paint it, and add decals my self?

5. also batteries, do they come with car or i gettem too? how long do they last and are there different types that last longer than others?

thats all for building questions and i have one last one

i checked on the tamiya site the otherday bc i wanted the ferari fxx rc it went for around 270

i went to the hobby shop in my city and it was i believe alot cheaper, like in the 170's i think...

whats up with that?

josh222
08-24-2007, 07:50 AM
1, That depends on the kit and the skill of the builder, a TT01 which is the chassis that Ferrari is on is a simple kit to build. It comes in kit and rtr(ready to run) versions, I would recommend the kit as you will how it works and how to fix it.

2, Tools... You will need standard pliers, needle nose pliers, several sizes of philps screw drivers, a hobby knife. Metric socket driver isn't needed but it would make it easier to build. Also need CA Glue for the tires.

3, For a TT01 I would recommend replacing the bushing it has in the drive train with Ball Bearings, not only do they make it faster they reduce wear. I would also recommend getting the aluminum center drive shaft just for durability.

4 The body needs to be cut out and painted with Lexan paint you will find at the Hobby shop, they come with a decal sheet. You paint the body from the inside.