Notices

Thread: Kyosho Fairwind 900

1. Kyosho Fairwind 900 
    I'm new to rc boats (been running 1/10 nitro touring cars) and fancy a sailboat, I've been looking at the Kyosho Fairwind 900 to start off with, can anyone tell me if it is any good? If not what should I be looking at, I've got about 300 ($450), not worried about radio gear because I can transfer it off my cars, please help.

The Fairwind makes a great first sailboat. It's fairly easy to build and can take higher winds better than some smaller R/C yachts on the market. If you're looking for a bit more performance, the Victor Model Products Soling One kit might interest you. It's a pretty serious build, but when done right produces a fast boat that doesn't cost a bunch of money overall. I believe there's a distributor for the Victor Soling in the UK; you might check the company's website for more info on that selling point.

RickE

Thanks RickE, can you tell me the url because I can't seem to find that company.

4. Ignore the last post 
    Thanks RickE, found the website, I will let you know what I think.

Matt

Seeing as you are in the UK where there is a alot of well organised radio sailing you should contact the MYA (Model Yachting Association) and take a look at their web site before you decide to buy any kit boat (Kyosho Fairwind 900).

Check it out at: http://www.radiosailing.org.uk

There are 5 main classes of yachts to consider including the, 1 metre, Marblehead, R10, RA and 6 metre. All are raced at many clubs around the country. If racing is not what you are after, all the clubs have fun sailing on most weekends and even some weekdays, with the most common boat being the IOM (1 metre) class. This is the smaller and cheaper of all the classes, and sails really well, infact alot better than all kit boats, including the Kyosho Fairwind 900. If you decide that you want to race at a later date, you will have many opportunites country wide with this class of boat.